A treasure trove of local history, our archive has many items covering 2000 years, here are a few. More to be added very soon.

© Chesterford History & Archaeology Society | 2023  

Agriculture 1750-1900“Agriculture in England from 1750 to 1900 with particular reference to the Inclosure of Great Chesterford, Essex”, by Christine J Carver, Hockerill College, Bishop’s Stortford. (Typed thesis), document photograph
All Saints ChurchPhotograph of All Saints Church taken in 1860 before alterations to door and tower.photograph
All Saints ChurchPhotograph of All Saints Church and the War Memorial taken in 1920.photograph
All Saints ChurchPhotograph of All Saints Church taken in 1972.photograph
All Saints ChurchPhotograph of All Saints Church taken late 20th century.photograph
All Saints ChurchPhotograph of All Saints Church late 20th century.photograph
All Saints ChurchPhotograph of a drawing of All Saints Church by William Cole made in 1744. The Church has the original tower and the village is known as Chesterford Magna., photograph print
All Saints Church in the 19th Century“Great Chesterford: All Saints Church in the 19th Century”, by Marjorie Deacon, 1978.  A booklet of 33 pages, it gives a detailed information about the Church and the Vicars of the period. Much of the detail is gleaned from the Churchwardens Account Book, document photograph
All Saints Church Re-dedication ArticleAn article taken from a Cambridge paper in 1891 concerning the reconstruction, renovation and re-dedication of All Saints Church, Great Chesterford. The drawing of the Church is from a sketch by their own artist. After the fall and rebuilding of the Church tower in 1790, and the disastrous restoration of the Church in 1842 by Lord Charles Hervey, the final restoration took place in 1891 by the Rev Randolph at a cost of £3000. It was undertaken by Rattee & Kent, Cambridge and the architects were Bloomfield & Sons. This article describes in detail the restoration and total renovation of the Church and the Service of Re-Dedication., document photograph
All Saints Church StampAll Saints Church stamp used on Church literature, 20th century.artefact
Anglo-Saxon brooch in the shape of a birdThis is a replica of a bird-shaped brooch, possibly of religious significance, excavated from male grave 68 of the Anglo-Saxon cemetery discovered in Great Chesterford in 1952. It was reproduced in 2013 by Daegrad Tools, Sheffield for the purpose of re-enactment.artefact
Anglo-Saxon CemeteryAn Anglo-Saxon Cemetery at Great Chesterford, Essex, by Vera Evison, 1994.  CBA Research Report 91. The site of the excavation was north-west of the Roman town near the gravel pits.publication
Anti-Gas Training CertificateCertificate for completing a course of anti-gas training, awarded to Joshua P. Smith by Essex County Constabulary on the 5th April 1939.  This allowed Joshua to act as an Air-Raid Warden.document
Archaeology – Celtic MirrorA Celtic Mirror from Great Chesterford, an article by Sir Cyril Fox, taken from Antiquity 135, 1960. A very detailed description  accompanied by a two third scale drawing and six black and white photos showing both sides of the mirror and the patterning in closer detail., document photograph
Archaeology – Celtic MirrorPhotograph of the Celtic Mirror found near Great Chesterford, taken from an article by Sir Cyril Fox, published in Antiquity 135, 1960.photograph
Archaeology – Medieval Great ChesterfordObservations on Medieval Great Chesterford, by A E Collins, 1980s.   The village from the end of the Roman period to the late Medieval period. A detailed record of the archaeological features within the medieval market town and present village. Details of excavations and watching briefs accompanied with sketch maps and diagrams.document
Archaeology – Recent ObservationsRecent Archaeological Observations at Great Chesterford (Roman), by Howard Brooks and Steven Wallis, from Essex Archaeology and History 22, 1991. A record of excavations and finds from the areas of the Roman town and fort with particular reference to Flint Cottage, Carmen Street.document
Archaeology – Roman WallA Roman Wall in All Saints Churchyard, Great Chesterford, by Daniel Gadd, taken from Transactions of the Essex Society for Archaeology and History, Volume 32, 2001. Record of excavations done in the churchyard by members of the Chesterford Archaeology Society.document
Archaeology Group HistoryGreat Chesterford Archaeology Group: a brief history, Parts One and Two by E C Price,1999. Part One covers the period 1977-1993 from the formation of the group by like-minded members led by Anthony E Collins, describing the many digs and excavations they performed in that period. Part Two 1993-1999 describes the period of decline and eventual demise of the Group when the decision was taken to merge with the Chesterfords History Society, now known as Chesterfords Local History and Archaeology Society (CLHAS)., document photograph
Archaeology in Great Chesterford“Archaeology in Great Chesterford: an assessment”, by Anthony E Collins of the Great Chesterford Archaeology Group,1980s.  A short but detailed description of the area and its archaeological history., document photograph
Bentley ReceiptReceipt recording the payment of £88 to Mr Edwin Bentley for work he had completed to a marble cross in the Churchyard, presumably the War Memorial.  It was paid on 16th December 1944 by Mrs Griggs.  Mr Bentley was a builder, wheelwright and undertaker living on South Road, having taken over the business in the 1940s from Henry Abram. The buildings later became John Moore’s printing works, now Granta House., document photograph
British Legion ParadeBritish Legion Armistice Day Paradephotograph
British Legion StandardThe standard of the Great and Little Chesterford British Legion after being cleaned in January 2024 and then re-hung in All Saints Churchphotograph
Bronze Age Gold TorcPhotograph of a Bronze Age gold torc found by Anthony Collins lying at the side of field while on a walk on Coploe Hills. This led to a Coroner’s Inquiry to establish whether it was treasure trove i.e. the object is old enough for it to be presumed the true owner is dead and the heirs undiscoverable. The Inquiry was held at Ickleton School on the 17th May 1971. Questions were asked of Mr Collins about the circumstances surrounding the find and whether the field was in Essex or Cambridgeshire as the Coploe Hills form a boundary.  It was established that the field was in Cambridgeshire, farmed by Mr R Driver and owned by Clare College. The land on the Essex side was farmed by a Mr Griggs. Dr D Clarke, an expert in Bronze Age archaeology at Peterhouse College, Cambridge was sworn in as a witness.  He was of the opinion that the torc was probably made from Irish gold and dated from the late Bronze Age, 1,000 – 800 years B.C. The jurors reached a verdict of treasure trove and the torc is kept in the safe hands of the British Museum?  A copy of the Inquiry is held in the Archive.photograph
Carmel StreetEarly 1900s photograph of Carmel Street with no footpaths or proper road. On the right is the Old Bakery and on the left people are standing outside the Barrett’s butcher shop.photograph
Carmel StreetPhotograph of Carmel Street taken around 1930 with Barrett’s butcher shop and the Old House on the left and The Gables and Carmelstead on the right. In the centre are the old cottages next to the Chapel.photograph
Carmel StreetThis photograph of Carmel Street in the 1940s shows on the right Orford House and the Old Bakery with original thatch. Orford House was built by William Thurgood when he owned the village shop on St John’s Cross. The four cottages that had stood there were condemned and demolished in 1938 to be replaced with Orford House and Box Cottage.photograph
Carmel StreetPhotograph of Carmel Street looking towards Manor Lane. On the right is the Old House, home and shop of Jack Barrett the butcher. Beyond it is what is now known as the Long House when it was part of Thurgood’s shop.photograph
Carmel StreetPhotograph of Mr and Mrs Choppen outside Garden Cottage on Carmel St. Mr Choppen set up an agricultural engineering business in Saffron Walden. He had a smithy in Little London, a row of cottages behind Carmel Street, see Commerce in Great Chesterford, 1900-1950, by Ian Deatker, available from the Society.photograph
Carmel StreetEight workmen taking a break to be photographed during the construction of  The Gables for the Seaman family in the 1920s. Carmel Street changed name several times, originally called Middle Street, in1887 it was called Market Street, after the Chapel was built, Chapel Street.photograph
Carmel StreetPhotograph of Carmel Street from St John’s Cross showing Thurgood’s shop on the left with the Old House beyond and on the right Orford House and the Old Bakery.photograph
Carmel StreetPhotograph of Carmel Street showing the Congregational Chapel and the cottage on the right which has since been demolished, and the land used as the Chapel garden. Beyond the Chapel can be seen July Farmhouse. In 1910 the farmhouse was lived in by William Wakefield and his family.  By 1911 William’s wife had died and the farmhouse was bought by the Peppercorn family. William moved to the little cottage to the right of the Chapel.photograph
Carmel StreetThis photograph shows a view of Carmel St looking south in the early 1900s. Beyond the Chapel are the cottages which were later demolished to make way for a private house and the Chapel garden.photograph
Carmel Street – The Old BakeryCharles ‘Stodgy’ Searle ran the bakery from c.1912-1937 when Mr Bert Cole took over. It closed in 1953 and was converted to a private house. It lost its Grade 2 listing after a disastrous fire in the 1980s. The photograph shows the Searles standing in front of the bakery. The shop door can be seen to the right and beyond that some of the thatched cottages which were replaced by Orford House, built by Mr Thurgood.photograph
Carmel Street – The Old BakeryThis photograph shows the remains of the Old Bakery after the fire in the 1980s. The house was restored and some original interior features remain but it no longer has a Grade 2 listing.photograph
Carmel Street – The Old BakeryThis photograph shows the Old Bakery in Carmel Street in the early 1900s with a horse and cart taking deliveries for the village. On the right is one of the old cottages which were demolished when Mr Thurgood built Orford House.photograph
Carmel Street CottageThis photograph shows one of the cottages next to the Chapel before it was demolished.  The photograph was taken in the early 1900s.photograph
Carmen StreetEarly 19th/20th century photograph of Carmen Street looking south with Weaver’s Cottage on the left and a row of cottages on the right, with plenty of onlookers. Carmen Street was once called Dark Lane.photograph
Carmen StreetLate 19th early 20th century photograph of Carmen Street with the house now known as Wearns Folly on the left when it was several cottages. The end cottage which collapsed belonged to Benjamin Fitch a shoe maker.photograph
Carmen StreetCarmen Street after the flood in 1968 which demolished  Mrs Cadwallader’ cottage. The Recreation Ground has flooded on several occasions.photograph
Carmen StreetMrs Cadwallader’ house at the bottom of Carmen Street demolished by a flood in 1968.photograph
Carmen StreetPhotograph of Carmen St in the 1930s with Alley Cottage next to Cat Lane, a passageway through to Newmarket Rd. Beside Alley Cottage is Gramaur Cottage.photograph
Carmen StreetPrint of Carmen Street by E C Price, dated 1978.print
Carmen Street – Lavender Cottage BakeryThe building on the extreme left is Lavender Cottage on Carmen Street. Herbert Andrews took over the bakery there from his uncle in 1912. Some of the old ovens can still be seen. To find out more about bakers in Great Chesterford see ‘Commerce in Great Chesterford 1900-1950’ by Ian Deatker available from the Society..photograph
Carmen Street – Lavender Cottage BakeryHerbert Andrew’s baker’s oven in Lavender Cottagephotograph
Carmen Street – Lavender Cottage BakeryAdvertisement for Herbert Andrew’s Bakery in Lavender Cottage, Carmen Street from 1929., document photograph
Carmen Street – Lavender Cottage Bakery – Herbert AndrewsPhotograph of Herbert Andrews delivering goods from his bakery in Lavender Cottage, Carmen Street with his horse and cart.photograph
Carol ServicePhotograph taken of the Village Carol Service held on Horse River Green on the 21st December 2021. In the background can be seen a stained glass window on River Green House and the barbecue tent courtesy of Mr and Mrs Day. Both the stained glass windows around the village and the Carol Service have become annual events.photograph
Chesterford CupThe Chesterford Cup was presented to the men of the Great Chesterford Branch of the National Fire Service after the ammunition dump explosion at Chesterford Park on 30th May 1944. This side of the cup reads – “Presented by  Dr and Mme Werner Gothe of Chesterford Park to the N.F.S. Great Chesterford.”  After being displayed in the village shops, then taken home by Richard Fordham, one of the firefighters ,the whereabouts of the cup are unknown. Anyone with any knowledge of its whereabouts please get in touch with the Society. To find out more about the explosion read “Disaster at the Park”, by Janet Clark available from the Society.photograph
Chesterford CupThe cup was presented to the men of the Great Chesterford Branch of the National Fire Service after the ammunition dump explosion at Chesterford Park on 30th May 1944 by Dr and Mme Werner Gothe, owners of the Park. This side of the cup reads – “To Commemorate their bravery at the ammunition dump explosion, May 30th 1944”.  After being displayed in the village shops it appears it was taken home by Richard Fordham, one of the firefighters but now the whereabouts of the cup are unknown. If anyone has any information that would help to find the cup please contact the Society. To find out more about the explosion see “Disaster at the Park”, by Janet Clark, available from the Society.photograph
Chesterford FamiliesThis family photograph taken in 1907 shows, from left to right, the Reynolds family, the Whitman family and the Turner family.photograph
Chesterford ParkArticle written by Phillip Wright in 1980s when Chesterford Park was Schering Agriculture Research Station. Pest Control who bought the Park in 1952 sold it to Fisons Agrochemicals who then merged with Boots Farm Sales as FBC Ltd. In 1983  they were taken over by Schering Agrochemicals. This article advertises their agrochemical advice service., document photograph
Chesterford Park“A Look at the History of Little Chesterford Park”, by Dennis Smith. This article includes a chronology of occupiers and events at the park through the ages, also extracts from the Domesday Book, maps and photographs of the interior. To read the complete article please apply through the website., document photograph
Chesterford ParkDescription of the Chesterford Park estate prepared by the Estate Department in the 1990s. The amount of land given over to arable, woodlands and buildings all looked after by one manager, two assistants and a part-time Amenity Horticulturist., document photograph
Chesterford ParkLittle Chesterford Park: a short history, written and compiled by Dennis Smith. First published in 1990, updated by Agrevo in 1995. A history of Chesterford Park from 1540-1994, with map and photographs.publication
Chesterford Park ExplosionCopy of an article called “Chesterford Park Big Bang” written by Peter Carter, a Schering employee working at Hauxton.  The Park was bought by Pest Control in 1952 and was later called Chesterford Park Research Station. A consequence of the 1944 explosion was the amount of ammunition which was spread over the entire area and small explosions could be heard daily as these were collected and detonated. The photograph shows the amount of ammunition unearthed in 1987. At the time of the explosion, Peter Carter was living in Eagle Lodge in the Park. For more information on the explosion and its consequences see “Disaster at the Park”, by Janet Clark, available from the Society., document photograph
Chesterford Park MansionThe mansion was built between 1840 and 1865 and has undergone various alterations by extension and demolition. This diagram by Mrs Olive Fordham shows the chronology of when these changes took place., document photograph
Chesterford Stores Renovation, FrontPhotograph showing the demolition of the front of Chesterford Stores on St John’s Cross in the 1990s. This area of the building became a private house called The Courtyard.photograph
Chesterford Stores Renovation, SideThis photograph shows Chesterford Stores being turned into two private houses in the 1990s, showing the timber construction of the walls. This particular photo shows The Long House on Carmel Street.photograph
Chesterford to Newmarket Railway ActAn Act for the construction of a railway from Chesterford to Newmarket with a branch to Cambridge, 16th July 1846., photograph publication
Church StreetPhotograph of Church St from the 1930s with the Elm Tree Public House on the left. Now a private house, the Old Elm Tree.photograph
Church StreetLate 19th early 20th photograph of the area at the bottom of Church Street. The Elm Tree, the White House and Copperfields can be seen in the distance. At the bottom is an advertisement for stabling at the Crown and Thistle, an attempt to capture some of the trade which normally went to the Crown House.photograph
Church Street – BarnPhotograph of the barn next to the Old Vicarage taken in 1987. It was used to garage the new motorised fire engine. Now demolished, the private house Ticifelle built in its place.photograph
Church Street – CopperfieldsMabel Law had a sweet shop in Copperfields/Wren Cottage in the early 20th century. Her husband Frank was a coal merchant and chimney sweep. In this photograph she is standing at the door of the shop with some of her customers.photograph
Church Street – Elm Tree Public HousePhotograph of the Elm Tree Public House taken in1939, part of the Bushnell Collection, now a private house known as the Old Elm Tree. For more information see “House Histories f the Chesterfords” available from the Society.photograph
Church Street – Fiddler’s RestLate 19th century photograph of what is now known as Fiddler’s Rest. It was built as The Lodge to the Vicarage, now known as Bishop’s House. It was used as a gatekeeper’s cottage in the 1840s by Lord Charles Hervey. At the top of the front gable the initials CAH can just be made out. These are the initials of Charles Amelius Hervey. Could the well-dressed children at the gate be his? For more information on this and the Vicarage see ‘House Histories’ edited by John French and available from the Society.photograph
Church Street – Hill’s Coal YardAdvertisement for Hill’s coal yard on Church Street from the 1930s., document photograph
Church Street – Hill’s Coal YardPhotograph of Hill’s coal yard off Church St in the early 20th century. There were two coal merchants and chimney sweeps on Church Street, the other being Frank Law who operated from Copperfields where his wife Mabel had a sweet shop.photograph
Church Street – Old VicaragePhotograph of The Old Vicarage on Church Street taken in 1912, looking south. It is rumoured that a set of six silver bells from the Church were hidden in a passageway between the Vicarage cellar and the Crown House Hotel to save them from Cromwell’s troops during the Civil War. They have never been found but some indication of a passage was found when workmen discovered the remains of what could have been a passage when  Church Street was dug up due to roadworks.photograph
Church Street – Old VicaragePhotograph of the Old Vicarage, Church Street taken in1933 looking north. The date 1692 can be found on the plasterwork on the side of the building, although the building dates from before then and may have been the original Manor House. There have been two ghost sightings in the Vicarage. A grey lady was seen in 1938 and again  in 1976 by the owner Mrs Jean Winter.photograph
Church Street – Old VicaragePhoto of the Old Vicarage, Church Street clearly showing the pargetting above the front window and the iron supports on the side.photograph
Churchwarden’s Account Book 1862-1957Churchwarden’s Accounts Chesterford Magna, 1862  payments and receipts to the Church accounts from 1862-1957, signed by the Churchwardens. Full of interesting information e.g. Mrs Blackwell was paid 1/6p for regularly washing a surplice, and 2/- for two in the 1870s. £55 was given to the Little Chesterford Fire Fund on 5th April 1914. In 1915 Mr Thewlis, Headmaster was paid £5.00 as temporary organist. Presumably the usual organist had gone to war.artefact
Col. Wentworth Stanley PhotographA framed photograph of Alan Sidney Wentworth Stanley taken in c.1885. Colonel Stanley lived in Chesterford House at the top of the High Street with his Australian wife Lilian. The brown wooden frame measures 48cm x 62cm, and the photograph 28cm x 23cm. For more information about him and Chesterford House see “House Histories of the Chesterfords” available from the Society., artefact photograph
Congregational ChurchThe Congregational Church (Chapel) in Carmel Street, (also called Chapel Street and Market Street) was built in 1846 with 250 sittings. It is built in a typical style with a pedimented frontage. A non-conformist chapel, it was well used by the Turner family who were stalwarts of the Salvation Army. Some changes were made in 1981 but by the mid 1990s it had fallen out of use. It was refurbished and reopened with a resident pastor in 1997 and has since also been used as a meeting place for village groups and societies.photograph
Congregational Church AssemblyLate 19th, early 20th century group photograph of the Congregational Church congregation, standing outside in Carmel Street.photograph
Congregational Church OfficialsTaken in the 1970s, a group photo of the officials of the Congregational Church (Chapel) outside the entrance. From left to right, Mr E Bareham, Treasurer, Mr H Andrews, Secretary, Mr R Ward, Student Pastor, Mr R Sharpe, Senior Deacon, Rev Bertram Lee Woolf, D.Ph., Rev Wallis Hayward, former Student Pastor.photograph
Congregational Church OutingPhotograph of a Congregational Church Sunday School outing to Clacton in a charabang in 1926, possibly the first time any of them had been in a bus.photograph
Coronation GreenLate 19th, early 20th century photograph of the area now known as Coronation Green.  It shows one of the old cottages before it was demolished surrounded by villagers. This area is now the village green.photograph
Coronation GreenThis Edwardian photograph of Coronation Green shows three small cottages on what has now become the village green. The cottages were demolished over eighty years ago and an oak tree planted on the green space. In 2003 a village sign was erected with a time capsule buried underneath.photograph
Country Club Guest BookCountry Club membership was decided by application followed by an interview with Mr Tothill. Not everyone who applied was accepted. Any non-member had to sign the Guest Book and be introduced by a member. On this page Mr Holman, of the village shop, a member has introduced, or signed in his wife and daughter Janet, non-members, on the 24th August 1946 and seems to have returned with them the next day. Membership was 1 guinea a year, later rising to £10. This Guest Book covers the period May 1946 – July 1948.  , artefact photograph
Dr Alan TreweekDr Alan Treweek purchased Southacre in 1936 and turned Southacre Cottage into a surgery.  His partner, Dr Yorke-Moore had been working part-time from Mortimers on School Street. In 1947, Dr David Paddison took over the practice until 1980. Dr Treweek lived in the Old White Horse on the High Street and recalled his experiences of World War II in the village, including the explosion at Chesterford Park in an article called ‘More Memories of Wartime’ published in the Times of the Chesterfords, Dec 1976. Another article in ‘The Times’ called ‘The Jarrow Crusade’ printed a letter he received from one of the marchers who had stopped at the village. He wrote “I wish to thank you for what you done for me and the other marcher, I will never forget that night and morning, the food, the bed and the bath was wonderful, Yours truly, Joe Douglas”.photograph
Dr David Paddison with Nurse AylettThis photo shows Dr Paddison presenting Nurse Winifred Aylett, District Nurse with a watch on her retirement.  Dr Paddison took over the Southacre Cottage practice from Dr Treweek in 1947 and remained there until he retired in 1980. His practice was taken over by Dr Eaton. Dr Paddison was a member of the Parochial Church Council for 33 years. On 8th November 1989 he gave a talk about his life to a meeting of the Local History Group. He talks in great detail about his memories of the village and the people and his life as a doctor. The transcription of this lecture is now part of the CLHAS oral history collection.  photograph
Dr Hedley BartlettDr Hedley Bartlett came from Saffron Walden and called in to the village three times a week.  He visited patients at home and would leave prescriptions at Holman’s store for people to collect.  He owned one of the first cars to be seen in the village, an open cream-coloured Napier. Anyone requiring a home visit had to leave a message at the Post Office or send a telegram. He practised medicine for 50 years and was a brilliant surgeon, performing many operations by candlelight, although he used an oil lamp when he removed Susan Davidson’s left eye at The Firs (Greenmeadows). He was also a lawyer, Bishop of Siluria and a Fellow of the Society of Antiquaries for the restoration work he carried out at the castle.photograph
Dr Hedley Bartlett’s CarriageA photo of Dr Hedley Bartlett’s carriage which he would have used to visit the village from Saffron Walden three times a week before he owned an open cream-coloured Napier automobile.photograph
Dr Padisson’s Name PlateDr Paddison bought Southacre on the High Street from Dr Treweek in 1947.  In 1936 Dr Treweek turned Southacre Cottage into his surgery.  Dr Paddison used it as his surgery until he retired in 1980.artefact
Edward HumphreyBlack and white framed photograph of Edward Humphrey, chauffeur to the Stuarts of Chesters. The car is a French Darraco from 1906.On the right hand side is a short biography of Edward’s life.photograph
Environmental AreasDocument originally belonging to the Great Chesterford Archaeology Group containing 63 maps of environmentally important areas in Essex and Hertfordshire. Map 47 shows in great detail the roads, lanes, paths, farms, woods, estates and geographical and historic features of this area.document
Fag EndPhotograph taken at Fag End around 1905 of a hurdy-gurdy being moved by a donkey and trailer having been hired by Mrs Law and her daughter, of Carmel Street, to raise money for charity. It obviously caused quite a bit of interest. Fag End at the bottom of Carmen Street was one of the two village pounds, the other being at the bottom of Cow Lane. The triangle of grass still exists and would have been fenced.photograph
Farthing Trade TokenOne of the lesser impacts of the English Civil War (1642–1651) was that low denomination coinage had become scarce and much debased.  After King Charles I’s death, production of coins was no longer a Royal prerogative and across the country merchants and traders stepped in to address this shortage by producing their own tokens, which could be redeemed at their face value at their premises. Benjamin Orwell was a grocer on High St and one of only two manufacturers of trade tokens in Great Chesterford, the other being John Housden.  This one farthing token has on the face side the name Benjamin Orwell around the outside and the date 1667 in the centre.  The other side (obverse) has Great Chesterford around the outside and the letters B O M (meaning unknown) in the centre. In 1667 an agricultural labourer would have earned about 12 old pennies per day or 48 farthings.artefact
Feoffment or Transfer of Land 1831This original document dated 8th October 1831 records a feoffment or transfer of land owned by John Kent and William Seaman of Little Chesterford to be conveyed. It seems to involve the setting up of a charity by Lady Hundden? for the poor of Little Chesterford. She gave £50. Fortunately it comes with a transcription of the original document., document photograph
Fire Brigade – Manual Fire EngineIn 1931, Mr Arthur Halls was Section Leader of the Chesterford Fire Brigade. The manual engine was an improvement on the old steam engine. It was kept at the Old Engine House on St John’s Cross, opposite the shop and would have been pulled by four horses from the pubs or the brewery and required ten men. It was also kept in a barn next to the Old Vicarage from where it was pulled by horses from the Elm Tree Pub. The crew were still unpaid volunteers some of whom had attended the Little Chesterford fire.photograph
Fire Brigade – Steam EngineT & H King’s manual fire engine used during the Little Chesterford fire. It took almost an hour to get there by which time much of the village had been destroyed.photograph
Fire Brigade – Steam EngineIn 1887 a Fire Engine Fund was set up in reaction to a spate of field fires. This photo is of Henry Kings’ steam fire engine in 1904, the first fire engine with a crew of unpaid volunteers, pulled manually and kept primarily at the Mill. Colonel Stanley was 1st Officer and the crew consisted of three men of the King family and other well known village names, Pilgrim, Burleigh, Barrett etc. It was the first engine to arrive at the fire in Little Chesterford in 1914. A drawing of this engine can be seen on the frontispiece of IR5 A Village on Fire by Ken Kilford, available for purchase from the Society.photograph
Fire Brigade and Motorised EngineThe latest addition to the Chesterford Fire Brigade, a motorised version still commanded by Arthur Halls. On 30th May1944 it was used at Chesterford Park when a munitions dump exploded (see IR4 Disaster at the Park, by Janet Clark, available for purchase from the Society). Arthur Halls continued as Section Head of the Fire Brigade until he retired due to ill health in 1955 when the brigade was merged with the Saffron Walden brigade.photograph
Fire Brigade Drill Book 1902National Fire Brigade Union Drill Book from 1902 used by the Chesterford Fire Brigade until it was disbanded in 1955. The inside front cover has a list of names of the fire crew in 1904 when Colonel Stanley was 1st Officer, and the inside back cover from 1931-1955 when A J Halls was Section Head.artefact
First Aid in War-TimeFirst Aid in War-Time: an appendix to the British Red Cross Society’s First Aid Manual, No.1. Published in 1942, this copy belonged to A G Clay and cost 6p., photograph publication
Fisons Action Newsletter No.21Action: the internal newsletter for agrochemical division people, Issue No.21, Summer 1978, published by Fisons with photographs and articles on Chesterford Park.publication
Flint WallsA record of flint and pebble walls on street frontages in Great Chesterford surveyed by E C Price in 1992 in a scale of 1/2500 feet. Walls in back gardens have not been included., document photograph
Flooding – High StreetPhotograph taken of the flood of 1999 when the High Street turned into a river. The flood was caused by the water from the fields overflowing the ditch, crossing the road and running down to Horse River Green, with a diversion into Manor Lane.photograph
Flooding – Horse River GreenA photograph of flooding at Horse River Green taken in 1999. The flooding did not come from the river but the top of the High Street where the water from the fields overflowed the ditch and turned the High Street into a river flooding Manor Lane and Horse River Green.photograph
Geophysical Survey ReportGreat Chesterford Roman Fort and Town Geophysical Survey Report produced by Essex County Council Planning, Field Archaeology Group, prepared by Robert Wardill, February 1997. The results of a  geophysical investigation of the Roman settlement. Roads, structures, pits and a large circular ditched enclosure possibly of  prehistoric origin were found., document photograph
Great Chesterford Church and VillageSmall booklet of only 12 pages, author unknown, about the history of the Church and the village from prehistory till the 1960s. Very concise, it finishes with a list of Pastors and Vicars from the 14th century until the mid 20th century.publication
Great Chesterford Historic Towns Assessment ReportReport written by Maria Medlycott and published in March 1998 by ECC Planning, Archaeology Section. It is an archaeological and historic assessment of Great Chesterford covering the prehistoric, Roman, Saxon, medieval and post-medieval periods with maps, diagrams and a comprehensive list of archaeological finds. There is also  complete coverage of every listed building in the village giving age, location and building materials., photograph publication
Great Chesterford, EssexThis publication about the history of Great Chesterford is in three parts. The main part by Marjorie Deacon ‘Church and Parish History’, is followed by ‘Parish Records’ by I Roxburgh and ‘Change in the Latter-day Village’ by G Gofton.  Printed in the 1970s, this copy belonged to Stacey Dyer and was found in his ‘box’.publication
Great Chesterford: A Common Field Parish in Essex, by Marjorie DeaconMarjorie Deacon lived in Fag End Cottage (Weaver’s Cottage) from 1968-79 and taught in a residential school in Ongar. She was a keen local historian and wrote three books on Great Chesterford. This one concentrates on the village and the layout of the fields surrounding it, before and after the Inclosure Act of 1801. It was self-published in 1983.publication
Great Chesterford: The People 1600-1800, by M DeaconMarjorie Deacon lived in Fag End Cottage (Weaver’s Cottage), Carmen Street from 1968-1979. She taught at a residential school in Ongar and was a keen local historian. She wrote three books on Great Chesterford. This one follows on from A Common Field Parish and concentrates on the people, schools, charities and the Church. Printed in 1989 by the Town Library, Saffron Walden.publication
High StreetPhotograph of the High Street looking east about 1920 with Chestnuts bottom left and a row of cottages before the White Horse pub.  The cottages were later demolished and Bourn Cottage built on the site.photograph
High StreetPhotograph of the High Street looking east taken around 1920. At the top is The Plough, then Turner’s Farm and barn. At this time The Plough was an alehouse with three cottages. The two cottages to the right of The Shieling and Turner’s Farm have been demolished and only The Plough and The Shieling remain. The Water Tower House can just be seen but the large trees have been removed. The man in the foreground is presumably an agricultural worker.  photograph
High StreetThe High Street looking west taken around 1920. On the left is Turner’s Farm then The Shieling and two cottages which have been demolished. The chimney of Geldarts can just be seen in the distance. Top right is Southacre Cottage, later to become the village surgery.photograph
High StreetPhotograph taken around 1920 of the top of the High St showing on the left had side The Plough when it was an alehouse with Mr Halls bootmaker’s shop and home on the left and Plough Cottage at the other end where Billy Mason the village ratcatcher lived. Turner’s Farm is next followed by Geldarts whose chimneys can be seen. On the other side is the gable end of Surrey Cottage where Mr Surrey the lime burner lived, and the gateposts of Chesterford House.photograph
High StreetThis photograph taken around 1920 shows the row of cottages which stood at the top of the High St at the junction with Walden Rd. They were demolished and the land became part of Chesterford House.photograph
High Street – Blacksmith’s Cottage and KentsThis photograph of the High Street shows Elizabeth House on the left and in the centre the bungalow built in the 1950s by Emily Smith on the site of her husband’s forge. The bungalow has since been extended and improved and is known as Blacksmith’s Cottage. Kents can be seen further up the hill.photograph
High Street – Blacksmith’s ForgePhotograph of the forge on the High Street around 1930 when Percy Smith ran it, helped by Les Denny.photograph
High Street – Blacksmith’s ForgeThis photograph from the mid 1900s shows a group of men standing outside the forge on the High Street. From the left they are B Rowlinson, T Bradford, Les Denny, B Wilson, G Lilley and P Smith the blacksmith. They appear to be fitting a new window.photograph
High Street – Blacksmiths Forge and KentsThis photograph shows the blacksmith’s forge on the High Street next to Kents.  Arthur Kent was blacksmith until 1911 when Percy Smith took it over until it closed in 1950. In 1971 his wife Emily demolished the forge and built a bungalow now much altered and known as Blacksmith’s Cottage. There was another blacksmith on Rose Lane. On the right hand side of the photograph are Kents Cottages.  For more information see ‘Commerce in Great Chesterford 1900-1950’ by Ian Deatker, available from the Society.photograph
High Street – Bourn CottagePrint taken from a watercolour of Bourn Cottage, High Street, Great Chesterford by R Thorpe., artefact print
High Street – Saffron HouseSaffron House on the High Street was once known as the Three Horseshoes Pub, Hill House, Annie Sharpe’s Cottage and Horseshoe Timbers. It is 17th century, Grade II listed, timber-framed and plastered. Home of the Village Fair in the early 20th century, a precursor of today’s Steam Up. For more information on houses in the Chesterfords see ‘House Histories’ edited by John French and available from the Society. In the 1980s the land was sold off for the construction of the Crocus Surgery.photograph
High Street – Saffron HouseDrawing  by E C Price of the timber construction of Saffron House when it was stripped down to the timber frame for restoration in 1983. At the time it was called Annie Sharpe’s Cottage.photograph
High Street – Saffron HouseDrawing by E C Price of the timber construction of Saffron House when it was stripped to the timber frame before restoration in 1983.  Then known as Annie Sharpe’s Cottage.photograph
High Street – Southacre CottagePhotograph of Southacre Cottage on the High Street, turned into a Surgery by Dr Treweek in 1936 and used from 1947-1980 by Dr Paddison.photograph
High Street – Surrey CottagePhotograph of Mr Surrey standing outside his cottage next to Chesterford House on the High Street. It was demolished when the land was sold off for housing. Mr Surrey was a lime-burner working at the lime pit off Walden Road. The cottage was lived in by Arthur Halls in the 1930s when he worked as a chauffeur for Colonel Stanley of Chesterford House. The gable end of a the barn on the extreme left was at one time the Scout Hut and in 1989 became Ash Cottage, the annexe to Ash House.photograph
High Street CottagesPhotograph taken in 1939 by Mr Bushnell of the cottages on the High St at the junction with Walden Rd, later demolished and the land added to Chesterford House.photograph
High Street CottagesPhotograph taken by Bushnell in 1939 of one of the row of cottages on the junction of the High St and Walden Rd.photograph
High Street: the White Horse Public HouseThis photograph is one from the Bushnell collection taken in 1939 when the White Horse was still a public house and Leonard Andrews was the publican.photograph
High Street: the White Horse Public HouseThe White Horse had a large room where various communal activities could be held, one of which was the Billiards Club. This photograph taken in the 1950s shows the club members gathered for a prizegiving. Leonard Andrews was the publican.  For more information about the White Horse see House Histories of the Chesterfords available from the Society.
High Street: White Horse Public HouseThe White Horse Public House is a 17th/18th century timber-framed and plastered listed building now a private house known as The Old White Horse. The photograph was taken pre1914 when George Mansfield was the publican.  For more information on the White Horse and other houses, see House Histories of the Chesterfords available from the Society.photograph
History of the Local History and Archaeology SocietyHistory of the Chesterford Local History and Archaeology Society from its origins within the aegis of the WEA to forming a separate society in 1995.document
Home GuardA group photo of the Chesterford Home Guard which operated from 1940-1944, it was started and led by Norman King owner of Kings Mill. To find out more about the Home Guard and the names of those in the photograph see ‘Chesterfords at War’, by John French, Brian Linford and Catherine McManus, available from the Society.photograph
Horse River GreenEarly 20th century photograph of Horse River Green with the River Cam in the foreground and the houses on South Street in the background. The river was used by farmers to water their horses and later to supply water for their farm machinery. At that time School Street was called River Lane and an open road led across the Green to the river. Buckets were used to draw the water before a pump was installed to fill water carts, the remains of which can still be seen. More information on Horse River Green can be found in the red telephone kiosk on the Green.photograph
Horse River GreenOne of the valves on the river at Horse River Green which was used to pump water into carts for farmers.photograph
Horticultural Society Annual Flower Show Brochure 1927Brochure and entry form for the Great Chesterford Horticultural Society’s Annual Flower Show which was held on Thursday July 14th 1927 in the grounds of Chesterford House by kind permission of Col. and Mrs A.W. Stanley. The Society was founded in 1883. The first few pages contain lists of committee members and subscribers with payments made ranging from 1/- to £10. There are two pages of very detailed accounts followed by the constitution and a set of rules. Participants had to pay an entrance fee of 2/6 as it was open to all-comers. In the schedule of entries and prizes e.g. for 6 tubers of four distinct varieties of potatoes, first prize was 6/-, 2nd prize was4/- and third prize was 3/-. The publication was sponsored by several local companies whose adverts on each page are a guide to the shops and trades in the village and include many well-known names, Perry, Choppen, Holman, Hill, Searle, Barrett, Abraham, and Peppercorn., photograph publication
Horticultural Society CupEPNS Cup awarded to John Miller in 1963 from the Gt and Lt Chesterford Horticultural Society after the annual flower show. It was presented to him by E C Nichols, a butcher in Carmel St.artefact
Infant SchoolThe infant school stood at the junction of Carmel Street and Jacksons Lane. It was built at the same time as the junior school.  Robert Cottingham sold the land to Lord Charles Hervey in 1845 with a Deed of Trust that it was used to provide education for the poor of the village and was under the control of the Vicar of the parish. It was demolished in the 1970s ad replaced by housing.photograph
Infant School Group Photo 1905Group Photo from the Infant School in 1905 with Mrs Pilgrim, Headmistress, on the right.photograph
Infant School Group Photo 1921Group photo of Infant School pupils and teachers taken in 1921.  Miss Doris Pask is on the right and on the left are Mrs Pilgrim and Mrs Dabbs.photograph
Infant School Group Photo 1930Infant School group photo from 1930 with names added by the CLHS. Who was Henry? Many of the surnames are still found in the village today.photograph
Infant School Group Photograph 1890-1910Photograph of Group 7 of the Infant School probably taken late 1800s.photograph
James Burleigh’s Bank BookJames Burleigh (1828-1885) was a farmer and maltster who lived with his family  in Carmelstead, Carmel Street. He farmed 105 acres with seven labourers. He banked with Gibson’s Bank, Saffron Walden and the book covers the period 1862-1873. It records payments to his farm labourers and shows him to be relatively well off with balances averaging £800 – £1000.artefact
Junior SchoolPhotograph of Great Chesterford School taken in the late 19th early 20th century. The school was built in 1845 on land purchased by Lord Charles Hervey from Robert Cottingham with the purpose of providing education for poor children. It was to be controlled by the Vicar of the parish. The school had one large room, with one small room off and a Headmaster’s House. From 1946-1974 the Headmistress was Miss Marjorie Pye. On her retirement she was given a hand embroidered table cloth with the names of all her pupils. For more information on the school see ‘A Village School, 1849-1999’, by Elizabeth Marshall, available to purchase from the Society.photograph
Junior School 1925Photograph of the school in 1925 showing the extension on the right, the first of many.photograph
Junior School Group Photo 1935Photograph of the class of 1935.photograph
Junior School Group Photo Late 1800sPhotograph of Junior School pupils in the late 1800s when Thomas Stroud was Headmaster.photograph
Junior School Group Photo Late 1800sPhotograph of a class at the Junior School possibly when John Dickinson was Headmaster.photograph
Kerosene Record CardA Kerosene Record Card issued by the Ministry of Fuel and Power in 1946/47. After the war fuel was in short supply and records were kept on suppliers and customers. The supplier in this case was Mr Holman from the shop on School Street. He probably supplied most of the village., document photograph
King – Ernest Thomas King (1880-1950)A young Ernest Thomas King taken from the King family photo album. With his brother Henry he shared ownership of Messrs T &H King flour millers and farmers after the death of their father.photograph
King – Harry Norman King (1882-1966)Photograph of a young Harry Norman King taken from the King Family Photo Album. Known as Henry, he shared ownership of Messrs T and H King, flour millers and farmers with his brother Ernest after the death of their father.photograph
King Family Photo AlbumPhoto Album of the King family from the late 19th century bound in calfskin with a floral decoration top right, bottom left decoration missing, with brass fastening.artefact
King George’s LetterLetter from King George V sent to every soldier who had been wounded in the First World War., document photograph
Kings Flour MillThe flour mill has been an important part of the community since Mr Thomas King owned it in 1886. The grain was supplied by local farmers and the flour produced was used by local businesses. The mill was water-powered and later changed to steam. It remained in the King family, run by Thomas’ two sons Henry and Thomas as Messrs T & H King. It provided work for many villagers but by 1979 it was rarely used and a change of use was proposed for ‘flatted workshops’.  photograph
Kings Flour MillThis photograph shows the mill in full production in the early 20th century.photograph
Kings Mill from Mill StreetPhoto of Kings Mill taken from Mill Street, early 1900s with possibly the manager’s house on the left, now demolished.photograph
Kings’ Mill Flour BinSmall wooden coopered flour bin with metal rings and cork bung.  Used in Kings’ Flour Mill in Great Chesterford.artefact
Land Girls CertificateThis certificate was awarded to Mrs Emily Dyer in 1917 in recognition of her work as a land girl during World War I. She began work as a land girl in May 1917.document
Liard de FranceThe Liard de France was a French coin, worth three deniers, which appeared under Louis XIV and was the smallest in use in the period prior to the Revolution. This example was unearthed at the school playing field in June 2019. It is 23 mm in diameter, weighs around 4 grams, was made of a copper alloy and was minted in 1658. The figure on the front face is the Sun King, Louis XIV who reigned from 1643 to 1715.artefact
Little Chesterford – PoemThe Village by Anthony G McMahon.  A poem about life in Little Chesterford, 2012., document photograph
Little Chesterford – Post OfficePhotograph of the Post Office in Little Chesterford before the fire of 1914.This building caught fire but was saved by Bill Reeve, the postmaster. It is now a private house.photograph
Little Chesterford Fete HayrideLittle Chesterford Fete is held every June in the field next to the Church.  This photograph from 2012 shows a popular attraction of a hayride pulled by a traction engine, the children sitting on bales of hay.photograph
Little Chesterford FireThis photograph shows the aftermath of the fire on April 7th 1914. The fire spread so quickly people barely had time to rescue their belongings. As you can see from the number of bicycles the fire drew a lot of sightseers including an omnibus from Cambridge.. Forty people were made homeless out of a population of 100.photograph
Little Chesterford FireDuring the fire the outbuildings of Manor Farm were destroyed but the Manor House was untouched. The fire started when a spark from a passing steam engine ignited the roof of a barn at Bordeaux Farm and from there it was spread by the wind to the rest of the village, taking out two pubs and nine cottages.photograph
Little Chesterford FireA villager stands amidst the ruins of his cottage, one of nine which were destroyed in the fire in 1914.photograph
Little Chesterford FireA crowd of onlookers standing around while the fire still burns. On the top right, just beyond the policeman, a man points a jet of water from a hose onto the smouldering embers. In front of him Mr King’s steam fire appliance is attended to by three of the firemen. For more information about the fire see “A Village on Fire: Little Chesterford 7th April 1914”, by Ken Kilford available from the Society.photograph
Little Chesterford FireThe Bushel and Strike, one of two pubs in the village, was almost completely destroyed in the fire as was the other pub, The Crown. The landlady was a Mrs Wallman who was serving beer in what remained of the pub shortly after the fire.  It was refurbished but is now a private residence.photograph
Little Chesterford FireThe Crown Inn, a thatched, timber-framed building with pargetting was completely destroyed in the fire. It was rebuilt in a completely different style and remained as a pub until 1965 when it became a private dwelling. The landlord was Richard Hayward.photograph
Little Chesterford FireAfter the fire Mrs Wallman of the Bushel and Strike served beer in the ruins from the only barrel of beer left.photograph
Little Chesterford FireMrs Rebecca Law, a centenarian, was rescued from the Mangle Room and taken in a wheelbarrow to The Maltings before being taken to Saffron Walden hospital.photograph
Little Chesterford FirePhotograph of a terrace of three cottages taken before the fire in 1914 when it was completely destroyed. The first cottage belonged to the Unwin Family and the third to Charles Seaman and his family. The centre cottage was unoccupied.photograph
Little Chesterford Fire: Rev. John Stewart LetterA copy of the letter written by the Rev John Stewart on the 14th April,1914 to his parishioners concerning the aftermath of the Little Chesterford Fire. In his opinion the village had no need of charitable donations from outside to help those affected by the fire and refused to accept them saying they were an independent village and could help themselves. Many villagers disagreed with this. He was convinced that Lords Braybroke, Bristol and Inchcape would make good the losses., document photograph
Little Chesterford: a Brief History, page 1“A Brief History of Little Chesterford”, by John Butcher, written in the late 20th century. Especially interesting because of tales of its colourful inhabitants. Continues on Page 2., document photograph
Little Chesterford: a Brief History, page 2Page 2 of John Butcher’s personal history of Little Chesterford., document photograph
Little Chesterford: Church of Saint Mary the VirginPhotograph of the Church of Saint Mary the Virgin in Little Chesterford taken in 1920.photograph
Little Chesterford: Church of Saint Mary the VirginChurch of Saint Mary the Virgin, Little Chesterford taken in 1909.photograph
Little Chesterford: Church of Saint Mary the VirginChurch of Saint Mary the Virgin, Little Chesterford taken mid 20th century.photograph
Little Chesterford: Church of St Mary the VirginHistory and description of the Church of Saint Mary the Virgin, Little Chesterford, by Robert Shebbeare, 1991, with a list of Rectors and a guide to the brasses and graves . The sketch of a knight on the front page is of a brass of George Langham, the top half of which has since been restored. There is a carved monument inside the Church to James Walsingham. The Church building dates from at least the 13th century, perhaps earlier., photograph publication
Little Chesterford: Crown InnThis photograph of the Crown Inn was taken in 1912 two years before it was completely destroyed in the Little Chesterford Fire. It was later rebuilt and is now a private house. For more information on the Fire see “A Village on Fire” available from the Society.photograph
Little Chesterford: Crown Inn and Bushel and StrikeThis photograph which shows both the Crown Inn and the Bushel and Strike was probably taken about 1912 before the fire which destroyed them both.photograph
Little Chesterford: Inclosure Act 1801Act for dividing, allotting and inclosing the open and common fields, meadows, pastures, wastes, and the commonable lands and grounds in the parish of Little Chesterford. The act sets out who the Commissioners were and what duties they were required to perform.. Frederick, Earl of Bristol, the main landowner, and the Rev. William Macklin appointed the Commissioners whose job it was to apportion the land by dividing, allotting and inclosing. The Commissioners were Edward Hare, John Dugmore and Martin Nockolds.  For more information on the Inclosure award see “Little Chesterford in 1801 as revealed in the Inclosure Awards”, by Ken Kilford available from the Society, document photograph
Little Chesterford: The MaltingsA photograph of The Maltings in Little Chesterford taken by Bushnell in 1939.  Untouched by the fire, it was a refuge for villagers made homeless by the Fire. An article written by the owner, John Butcher about the history of the house can be found on the website.photograph
Little Chesterford: The Maltings, page 1A comprehensive description of the architectural history of The Maltings written by the owner, John Butcher, to accompany a slide show. Basically a hall with crosswings, the house was altered significantly over many periods from the 15th century onwards. Page 3 has structural drawings and dates of alterations., document photograph
Little Chesterford: The Maltings, page 2Page 2 of John Butcher’s architectural history of The Maltings., document photograph
Little Chesterford: The Maltings, Page 3Diagrams of the beams and structure of The Maltings with dates of alterations, drawn by John Butcher., document photograph
London RoadBungalows built on London Road mid 20th century. London Road was also known as the Turnpike Road when a toll was paid to use it. It was the original A11 before the M11 was built, the main road from London to Cambridge.photograph
London RoadThis photograph shows the mill stream with a bridge crossing from London Road to the mill bank in the early 20th century Top right is the Greyhound Pub standing at the junction of London Road and Ickleton Road.photograph
London Road – Chesterford Garage Co.Photograph from the 1920s of Chesterford Garage Co. on London Road. There were originally two garages owned by Mr Thurgood, also Lock’s Transport Cafe, owned in 1937 by Walter Frederick Lock. These have all been demolished and replaced by a row of houses.photograph
London Road – Chesterford Garage Co.Mr W Seaman standing in front of his garage on London Road in 1928.photograph
London Road – Chesterford Garage Co.The Mr W Seaman standing in front of the garage on London Road in 1928. The garage was owned by Mr Thurgood.photograph
London Road – Greyhound PubNow the site of Plextek on London Road, in the 19th century the Greyhound Public House was the last house in the village. In the early 20th century it was also the home of the local tax collector, Ernest Searle. This photograph was taken in the late 20th century when it was a Vintners off-licence.photograph
London Road – Greyhound Pub/VintnersAdvertisement for Vintners wine shop in the old Greyhound Pub from 1981., document photograph
Manor LanePhotograph of Manor Lane in the early 1900s looking towards Manor Farm with Brock House on the right and Amberley House on the left. Brock House was originally known as Chambers Farm and Manor Lane as Parsonage Lane, Coney Lane and in 1887 Honey Lane.photograph
Manor LaneA very early photograph taken around 1900 of Manor Lane with Brock House on the right and Amberley Cottage on the left. Timbers and Manor Farm buildings can be seen in the centre. Brock House was originally known as Chambers Farm.photograph
Manor Lane – TimbersTimbers, Manor Lane once known as The Old School House, photo taken in 1939 as part of the Bushnell Collection. A 17th century Grade II listed building with exposed timber framing. It was made from two old buildings, one the original school house and the teacher’s house.photograph
Manor Lane – TimbersTimbers, Manor Lane is a Grade II 17th century building with exposed timber framing. This photograph was taken in 1939 as part of the Bushnell Collection. Now a private house it was once a school and consisted of two buildings, the schoolhouse and the teacher’s house.photograph
Mary Allen Photo AlbumPhoto album presented to Mary E Allen by the members of her Girls’ Bible Class on August 22nd 1920. Mrs Allen was the wife of the Rev Andrew Allen, Vicar of Great Chesterford from 1917-1920. It includes photographs of a garden party held for the girl’s Bible Class in the Vicarage grounds with the Rev Allen and his wife Mary on August 19th 1920.  The boys Choir were taken on a trip to Baits Bite Lock near Milton, north of Cambridge. There are photographs of them waiting for the train and rowing on the river. These are followed by photos of the Vicarage and garden, the Church and the village. The Allens left the village in 1920, so it is likely the outings and the presentation of the photo album are a way of marking his retirement. The album has been signed by the girls in the Bible Class.  , artefact photograph
Mill FarmMr Dyball used Suffolk Punch shire horses at Mill Farm but this photo shows their eventual demise in favour of tractors as was happening elsewhere on village farms.photograph
Mill FarmMid 1900s photo of Mr Dyball of Mill Farm at work on his tractor in the field just off Walden Road. The farmhouse can be seen top left and the row of cottages and farm buildings have not yet been demolished. The farmhouse became a private property called Two Mills.photograph
Mill Farm – Cecil Dyball DiariesDonated by Mr Dyball’s son Jeffery, these nine diaries from 1952-1980 are a description of farming methods, both arable (barley, oats, wheat, sainfoin, beet) and livestock (cattle,sheep, and chickens), weather conditions and the life of a farming family of the period. They give details of the numbers of pheasants, partridges, rabbits etc bagged on shoots. They describe farming practices at Mill Farm, and Delles Farm, Park Road. The farmhouse itself is now a private property called Two Mills.artefact
Mill Farm – Shire HorsesSuffolk Punch shire horses were used on several village farms before the introduction of the tractor. In this photograph Mr Dyball and his son stand next to two shire horse foals at Mill Farm on Walden Road.photograph
Mill Farm FieldMr Cecil Dyball surveying a harvested field on Mill Farm. The farmhouse can be seen top right.photograph
Mill Farm Labour Account BookMill Farm Labour Account Book for 1940 containing the names of the farm workers and the type of work done to earn their wages. On 5th April 1940 they had a wage increase of 1/6 per week. One of the better paid was H Squirrel who earned £2.5.6 a week in April, rising to £7.16 .5 in  August when during the harvest all were given a bonus of £4.10,artefact
Mill Farm PrintPrint, artist unknown, of Mill Farm built around 1840 by a corn miller named Josiah Livings. The mills were demolished in the early 1900s due to the advent of the railways which caused a downturn in flour production.  The premises were used as farm buildings and the row of cottages eventually demolished., photograph print
Mill HouseMill House was until fairly recently the home of the King Family owners of Kings Flour Mill. It was built by Thomas King in the late19th century.photograph
Mill StreetMill Street leading to Kings Mill in the late 19th, early 20th century. Most of the buildings in the centre of the photograph have been demolished.photograph
Miss Pye’s TableclothMiss Pye, Headmistress of Great Chesterford School was presented with an embroidered tablecloth in 1965. This is a photograph of one corner. It was embroidered on all four corners and the centre with the names of her pupils, other teachers and anyone who wished her well. The Rev Ellis’ name can be seen at the bottom of the photo. Unfortunately no-one can remember the reason for the presentation as she didn’t retire until 1974, having been headmistress since 1946.artefact
Miss Pye’s TableclothA photograph of the embroidered names at the centre of the tablecloth presented to Miss Pye in 1965. All four corners were similarly embroidered. No-one can remember the reason for the presentation as she didn’t retire until 1974, having been there since 1946.artefact
Morris DancersPhotograph of  Morris Dancing in front of the Crown and Thistle in the 1970s.photograph
Morris DancersMorris Dancers accompanied by an accordion and violin band outside the Crown and Thistle in the 1970s.photograph
Morris DancersMorris Dancers outside the Crown and Thistle in the 1970sphotograph
Mr Edwards’ (Dentist) Name PlateName plate from Mr Edwards dental surgery., artefact photograph
National Agricultural and Rural Workers TokenIn the late 18th century there was a great deal of unrest among village agricultural workers who felt they were not paid a living wage. It caused a certain amount of ill feeling between them and their farmer employers. A meeting was arranged for the beginning of April 1872 to be held at the Crown and Thistle, Great Chesterford so that workers could voice their discontent. The token illustrated was found in the garden of Bourn Cottage opposite the Crown and Thistle and was possibly lost when the meeting became rowdy.  A full account of this meeting can be found in the Great Chesterford page of the Recorders’ website
National Monuments RecordEnglish Heritage National Monuments Record for the Chesterfords providing information on historic sites in this area, including a report on 38 listed buildings in Great Chesterford., document photograph
Newmarket RoadEarly 20th century photograph of Newmarket Road with a thatched cottage on the right which would later be destroyed by fire. Next to it is The Manse, once the village police station and home to PC Kettle and Flint Cottage is on the left.photograph
Newmarket RoadPhotograph of the thatched cottage next to The Manse on Newmarket Road after the thatch fire in 1921. Now demolished and part of a garden, a stone wall marks where it stood.photograph
Newmarket RoadPhotograph taken in the early 20th century of Newmarket Rd looking towards Cambridge. Bottom right is The Manse, then Flint Cottage.photograph
Newmarket RoadPhotograph taken in 1939 from the Bushnell Collection of Mill House on Newmarket Road, once known as Tollgate House when London Road was a toll road.photograph
Newmarket Road – Mill CottagesPhotograph taken in 1911 showing the row of cottages on London Road built by Mr King for his mill workers.photograph
Newmarket Road – The PoplarsPhotograph of The Poplars, or Poplar Lodge, taken in the 1920s with William Hagger standing in front.  In Pigot’s Directory for 1839 The Poplars was the Waggon and Horses pub until the licence was surrendered in 1900 when it became a private house.photograph
Newmarket Road -Pioneers HutPhotograph of the 1950 flood at the Recreation Ground on Newmarket Road. The Pioneers Hut, a social club with a billiards table, can be seen on the right with Elm Cottage beyond. The Secretary of the Pioneers Club in 1929 was H Houghton. Elm Cottage was once the Eagle Tavern run by Alvin Tubal Hagger.photograph
Old Vicarage PrintPrint by Sydney R Jones (1881-1906)of the Old Vicarage, Church Street taken from ‘The Charm of an English Village’, by D H Ditchfield, published in 1908. The Elm Tree Pub sign can be seen centre right. The Old Vicarage is a 15th century timber-framed house with 17th century plasterwork., photograph print
Pageant of Living WhistPhotograph of a programme for The Pageant of Living Whist (The Game of Whist played with Living Characters) held on the 28th July 1947 in the garden of The Rookery with a second performance on the 29th July at Caldress Manor, Ickleton, if wet to be held in the barn of Manor Farm. All in aid of Church funds. The programme lists the names of all participants and was produced by Major A J O Cook. The cost of printing was covered by local businesses whose adverts are printed on the inside front and back cover., document photograph
Pageant of Living WhistThis is a photograph of Mrs Bill Ryder, Mrs Ben Ryder and Mrs L Denny taking part in the Pageant of Living Whist in 1947 where each participant dressed as a playing card.photograph
Pageant of Living WhistPhotograph of the Pageant of Living Whist with all players standing in their suits before play starts. The Heralds were J Baynes and J Igglestone. This photograph taken in The Rookery.photograph
Pageant of Living WhistPhotograph of the Kings, Queens and Joker taking part in the Pageant of Living Whist in 1947. The Joker was played by Miss N Stephenson.photograph
Pageant of Living WhistMore players of the Pageant of Living Whist, names unknown.photograph
Parish Council Records InquiryA letter from the District and Parish Councils Committee to the Clerk of the Great Chesterford Parish Council dated the 30th August 1895  inquiring into how the Parish Records and documents are kept and their proper preservation. A form was included to be filled in and returned by the Parish Council., document photograph
Pilgrim – John Thomas Pilgrim and wife CarriePhotograph of John Thomas Pilgrim and his wife Carrie taken from the Pilgrim family photo album. The Pilgrims were a wealthy farming and brewing family. The brewery was behind The Maltings Pub on School Street. When John died in 1892 his son Edward John Pilgrim took over the business.photograph
Pilgrim Brewery SitePhotograph of the remains of the Swaine Adeney factory on the site of Pilgrims’ Brewery on School Street taken in the 1990s. The brewery changed hands in 1913 when it was taken over by Dales Brewery from Cambridge. They were bought out in the 1950s by Flowers Breweries who were then bought out in the 1960s by Whitbread. Dunlop, the sports manufacturers bought the site but in 1969 sold it to Swaine Adeney, manufacturers of high quality leather goods. In 1991 they moved the factory to Cambridge and the site became derelict. In 1993 the site  was bought by Mr and Mrs Hall of The Close and incorporated into their garden with the exception of a small area on School Street which was turned into a garden with a wooden bench to provide somewhere pleasant for people to sit. This was maintained by the Parish Council. The factory buildings were demolished apart from the maltings tower in the far corner which still exists. In 2021 the site was again sold for housing and the garden area became the drive to a private house.photograph
Pilgrim Brewery SitePhotograph of the brewery, Dunlop, Swaine Adeney site in the 1990s before it was demolished. The maltings tower remains in the garden of The Close.photograph
Pilgrim Brewery Site – Swaine AdeneyAdvertisement for Swaine Adeney from 1976., document photograph
Pilgrim Family Photo AlbumLeather bound photo album of the Pilgrim family from the late 19th century. The Pilgrims were a well-known family of farmers and brewers in the village., artefact photograph
Poor Law ReceiptThe Poor Law was a tax on property levied in each parish to provide poor relief. According to the Poor Law Amendment Act of 1866, parishes could set their own rate to be collected by a Poor Law Guardian. In this case, Alfred Burleigh who was paid 7/3d by Mr L Cann? of Little Chesterford on the 15th March 1879. On 16th November 1878 his rateable value was assessed at £7.5.0 at 1/- in the pound. Today this tax has been absorbed into our Council Tax., document photograph
Princess Anne SignaturePhotograph taken from one of the Visitors’ books from the Country Club of the signatures of Princess Anne and her then husband Capt. Mark Phillips, signed on March 31st, 1987 while attending the opening of the new Swayne Adeney factory on School Street., document photograph
Railway AccidentOn the 8th April 1965 a freight train carrying a load of brand new Ford Cortinas was in collision with another engine in Great Chesterford Station. This photograph was taken at the time from the bridge.photograph
Railway AccidentHeavy machinery starting to remove the engine involve in the accident on the 8th April 1965.photograph
Railway AccidentEngine involved in the accident at Great Chesterford Station on the 8th April 1965 being loaded onto a low loader for removal.photograph
Railway ArticlesA folder of articles from The Great Eastern Journal from 1974-2004 concerning the railway in Great Chesterford, containing many photographs and diagrams., document photograph
Railway BuildingPhotograph of the type of railway building to be found on the route of the Chesterford Newmarket Line 1845-1858. One like this can be found in Great Chesterford.  All featured a triangular pediment.photograph
Railway Engine used on the Chesterford to Newmarket LineA print of the type of engine which would have been used on the Chesterford Newmarket Line from 1845-1858. For a detailed description of the Chesterford Newmarket Line see IR2 ‘Our Villages – Their Beginnings and Now’ pp23-28, available to buy from the Society., photograph print
Railway Goods YardPhotograph of the marshalling yard with revolving turntable at Great Chesterford station in 1927 when many local businesses and farmers had goods delivered and sent by rail. Note the bales of straw awaiting transport.photograph
Railway LampBlack metal railway lamp used at Great Chesterford station by Montague (Monty) Mayhew when he worked for the railways c1950artefact
Railway Lamp Repair BookThis very dirty little book records railway lamps which were sent for repair to the Chief Mechanical Engineer’s Department in Stratford. It covers the period 1923-1960, first for the GER (Great Eastern Railway) and from 1943 LNER (London and North Eastern Railway). These records describe the type of lamp to be repaired and this one is signed by J Wheston who was Station Master from 1942-1951. Other Station Masters’ signatures are illegible.  , photograph publication
Railway SidingsThe sidings leading to the goods yard at Great Chesterford station, taken in 1927.photograph
Railway StationPhotograph of Great Chesterford station in 1939 with a steam engine at the platform. The station was on the main Great Eastern Railway line to Cambridge.photograph
Railway StationPhotograph of the station in 1982 when the signal box was still in use and the canopy had been removed from the bridge. The signal box was in use from 1881 – 1983 on the Great Eastern Railway’s main line to Cambridge.photograph
Railway Station Platform East SidePhotograph taken in 1960 of the east platform of the station showing the public toilets, no longer available.photograph
Railway Station with Canopied BridgeThis photograph from the early 1900s shows the signal box and the bridge before the canopy was removed.photograph
Ration BookChild’s Ration book from the First World War belonging to Mary Carver, a daughter of Ralph Carver living in Church Street, Great Chesterford. It is dated 1st November 1918. Ration books were essential during the war due to the shortage of food caused by enemy action. Photographs of  Mary’s parents’ ration cards are also in the archive., document photograph
Recreation Ground Deed of TrustOn the 21st December 1925 the land known as Little Field was sold to the Trustees by the Rev Robert Doble, acting for the Church, to be held in trust for the use and benefit of the inhabitants of Great Chesterford as a recreation ground. It was signed by all the Trustees:- Alan Wentworth Stanley, Frederick Berryman, Harry Norman King, Geoffrey Waller King, Henry King Clayden, John Barrett, William Thurgood, Percy Smith.  On 6th May 1958 the Deed of Appointment was signed by the new Trustees :- John Barrett, William Thurgood, Percy Smith, Norman King, Henry Clayden, A J Cole, W M Hamilton, P G Shaw, Geoffrey Stephenson, Dr D Pattinson., document photograph
Review of Arguments for and Against the Proposed CanalA brief review of the arguments for and against the intended canal from Cambridge to the River Stort, as produced at Chesterford on the 5th of September, 1788: most respectfully addressed to Richard Clark, Esquire, Alderman of the City of London, and Chairman of the said meeting, with a few hints in favour of the canal by Y.Z. The canal would have crossed in front of Audley End House, perhaps the reason it was abandoned., photograph publication
Revolt of Geoffrey de Mandeville, page 1“The Revolt of Geoffrey de Mandeville”, a four page article by Dennis Smith. An account of the 12th century rebellion against King Stephen, the last of the Norman kings, by Geoffrey de Mandeville, founder of Walden Abbey., document photograph
Revolt of Geoffrey de Mandeville, page 2Second page of Dennis Smith’s article on the revolt of Geoffrey de Mandeville., document photograph
Revolt of Geoffrey de Mandeville, page 3Page three of Dennis Smith’s article on Geoffrey de Mandeville., document photograph
Revolt of Geoffrey de Mandeville, page 4Page four of Dennis Smith’s article on Geoffrey de Mandeville., document photograph
Roman TempleModel of the Romano/Celtic Temple made by Bill Burwood in 1979 and used here as part of an archaeology exhibition. The temple which lies on a hill to the east of Chesterford is thought to have replaced an Iron Age shrine.  It was probably built during the 2nd century and was deliberately destroyed during the 4th.  artefact
Roman TempleThis scale drawing was made in the 1980s by E Price a member of the Chesterford Archaeology Society.photograph
Roman TownDr William Stukeley, a noted antiquarian, first visited the site of the Roman Town in Chesterford in 1719. At that time the Roman town walls were still visible above ground and he was upset by how villagers were using the stones from the wall as bottoming for roads and buildings. He made this drawing of the town layout, locating it with the village houses around it and notably calling the town Camboritum, this name has since been disputed., document photograph
Roman Town and it’s TempleA Roman Town and it’s Temple: excavation and research in the Great Chesterford Region 1965-1985, by Anthony E Collins, 1986. Tony Collins was an active member of the Great Chesterford Archaeology Group and was responsible for the excavation of 25 sites, 16 of which he discovered. This document is a synopsis of the provisional excavation and research reports., document photograph
Rose LaneThis photograph from the 1930s shows a thatched cottage on the junction of High Street and Rose Lane. By the late 1930s it was derelict and after a fire it was demolished. A bungalow was built there, occupied by a Mr Woods.photograph
Rose LaneThis photograph taken in the late 19th early 20th century shows the west side of Rose Lane where these old cottages stood before they were demolished to make way for the old village hall and bowling green in the 1970s.photograph
Rose LaneThis photograph taken in the late 19th/20th century shows one of the old cottages which stood on the junction of Rose Lane and the High Street.photograph
Rose Lane – Rose CottageRose Cottage on Rose Lane photographed by Bushnell in 1938/39. Rose Lane was also called Webb’s Lane probably because a blacksmith called Webb lived there.photograph
School StreetPrint of a line drawing of School Street by Stanley Roy Badmin, 1939. On the left is Mortimers with the Old Maltings in the centre. On the right hand side is the cottage where the surgery now stands.  The school wall remains the same today.print
School StreetPhotograph of School Street taken in 1909. On the left side Mortimers, the Old Maltings and Magnolia Cottage, on the right the school wall and Peppercorns Farm (now Peppercourt) in the distance.photograph
School Street – Institute/ Charity Cottage/ Sugar HouseOne of the Bushnell collection of photos from 1938 showing what was the Institute, later Charity Cottage and Sugar House.photograph
School Street – Institute, Charity Cottage, Sugar House/ Lyng BarnPhoto taken in 2002 when the house looks as we see it today with the Lyng Barn on the right.photograph
School Street – Institute/Charity Cottage/Sugar HousePhoto of The Sugar House from the late 20th century when is was Joan and Charles Mortimers’ antique shop.  The photograph is taken from an article in ‘Antique Shops of Essex (17) describing the shop and its contents in glowing terms.   Lyng Barn was a showroom for the shop. The building was originally William Maris’ harness maker’s shop.  It was bought by the Rev Robert Doble in the 1920s to be used by the village as a Reading Room, or Church Institute for mothers’ meetings, Bible class, whist drives, dancing and other recreational activities. Later it became the Salvation Army Hall., document photograph
School Street – The Old MaltingsAdvertisement for Dale’s Brewery in the Old Maltings from the 1920s., document photograph
Some Reminiscences of a Chesterford Choir BoyWritten in the 1950s by Stacey George Dyer writes about his memories of Church life as a choir boy from the late 1880s when the Rev Randolph was the Vicar. Later he served as a Sunday School teacher and bell-ringer. Sales of this little booklet went towards the upkeep of the Church.publication
South StreetPhotograph of John Moore’s printing works and office on South Street opposite Horse River Green taken in the late 1900s. The office building is now Granta Cottage and a private house was built in 1989 on the site of the printing works. John Moore did a lot of printing for Cambridge University.photograph
South StreetPhotograph of a row of Cottages on South Street from the early 1920s. The house on the left was the post office from1900-1940 and was run by Isaac Denny. It is now a private house called The Old Post Office.  The next two cottages are private houses, The Cottage and South Cottage. South Street was originally called Low Street.photograph
South StreetPhotograph of South Street in the late 1900s looking towards the Church. In the centre is the Post Office and John Moore’s office, now Granta Cottage.photograph
South StreetPhotograph of South Street in the late 1800s showing Mount Cottage on the right, built by Sir Charles Hervey for his butler Mr Jowett who later became landlord of the Crown and Thistle.photograph
South StreetPhotograph of South Street in the late 19th century with what is now Granta Cottage on the left and the row of cottages containing the Post Office in the centre. The Crown and Thistle  with its new extension is on the right.photograph
South Street – Post OfficePhotograph of Grandpa Denny on his donkey cart outside the Post Office on South Street. Arthur Denny was the village postmaster from the early 20th century till 1940.photograph
Souvenir BeakerBone china beaker with a transfer print of All Saints Church and the words Great Chesterford Church, a present  from Chesterford.  One of the Chesterford souvenir range.artefact
Souvenir jugA souvenir pink pottery milk jug with a black and white transfer print of Mill House and garden on the front. With the arrival of the Eastern Counties Railway Line in 1845, Chesterford became a popular place to visit by train and souvenir pottery became popular. Other examples of this can be found in the archive.artefact
Souvenir PlateA souvenir  plate with picture of All Saints Church from the early 20th century when the railway brought tourists to the village. Possibly sold through Mortimer’s shop.artefact
Souvenir TeapotChina teapot with picture of All Saints Church on one side an a floral design on the other. Another item from the tourism collection.artefact
St John Ambulance Association CertificateFramed certificate acknowledging that Harry Swinfen had attended a St John Ambulance Association course and was qualified to render fist aid to the injured, dated November 1902. The Swinfens lived in Carmel Street., artefact photograph
Stansted Airport – Preservation Association InventoryInventory of the Area, its Character and Attractiveness, co-ordinated  by M R K Holden in 1982, for the North West Essex and East Herts Preservation Society, covering the parishes of Great and Little Chesterford, Littlebury with L.Green/Catmere End and Strethall.  In the 1980s a major concern for the area was the intention of the BAA to turn Stansted Airport into a major hub. Villages expressed their concerns by contributing to this inventory and answering questions about the historical, natural, social and cultural aspects of their villages which they felt would be endangered by any airport expansion leading to more traffic and housing developments. Here the Chesterford Association contributed to the inventory on behalf of the village.  The Association had been formed to oppose the Fairfield Development behind the High Street so was already in place to oppose the expansion of the airport., document photograph
Stansted Airport – Proof of EvidenceProof of Evidence of Mr I D F Deatker, Great Chesterford Association, March 1982. Mr Deatker appeared at the inquiry into the expansion of Stansted Airport on behalf of the Chesterford Association.  They objected to the proposal to expand Stansted  into a major airport, and this document explains in detail the reasons behind their objections., document photograph
Station PrintMid 19th century print of Great Chesterford railway station built in 1845 by Francis Thompson to service the new Chesterford to Newmarket Railway. which was operational  from 1845-1858 and closed due to mounting financial difficulties., photograph print
Station Restaurant MenuMenu from the Station Restaurant, a popular eating establishment in the old station in the 1980s., document photograph
Station Sale BrochureSale Brochure for the station building at Great Chesterford put up for lease by the British Rail Property Board in the 1980s having been leased previously as a restaurant. The front of the document has the ground plans of the buildings and a drawing of the facade. The station remains Grade II listed and was built in1845 by Francis Thompson to serve the new Chesterford Newmarket Line., document photograph
Station Sale BrochureGives a description of the station building and details of the lease, suggesting it requires refurbishment and would be suitable as a wine bar., photograph print
Steam Up 2011Engine and crowds on St John’s Cross.photograph
Steam UpRobert Pumfrey on his steam engine at Springwell Farm. The Pumfreys who were instrumental in bringing the Steam Up to the village were steam engine enthusiasts with their own engine.photograph
Steam Up 2009One of the vintage cars at the 2009 Steam Up, a 1917 French fourteen and a half litre LaFrange Roadster.photograph
Steam Up 1995Outside the Crown and Thistlephotograph
Steam Up 1995Outside the Crown and Thistlephotograph
Steam Up 2002In the Plough car parkphotograph
Steam Up 2002In the Crown and Thistle car parkphotograph
Steam Up 2002Cake Walk on Horse River Greenphotograph
Steam Up 2003Outside the Crown and Thistle
Steam Up 2004Crown and Thistle car parkphotograph
Steam Up 2004Shooting Gallery at the fair on Horse River Greenphotograph
Steam Up 2005Merry-go-round on Horse River Greenphotograph
Steam Up 2005Steam organ playing on St John’s Crossphotograph
Steam Up 2006Vintage lorryphotograph
Steam Up 2006Helter-Skelter on Horse River Green.photograph
Steam Up 2006Taking a breakphotograph
Steam Up 2008Vintage French automobile outside Box Cottage. A 1917 French LaFrange Roadster.photograph
Steam Up 2008In Plough car parkphotograph
Steam Up 2008Smoky ride.photograph
Steam Up 2008Culpin’s traction engine.photograph
Steam Up 2008Chesterfords Apple Aid selling juice made from local apples from South Street. This was a very popular stall for quite a few years, especially the warm apple flapjacks.photograph
Steam Up 2008Chesterfords Apple Aid  stall with apple juice, flapjacks and chutney for sale.photograph
Steam Up 2009Tractors at The Ploughphotograph
Steam Up 2009Coles’ pudding stall.photograph
Steam Up 2009Pre-school cake stall on South Streetphotograph
Steam Up 2009Basket stall on Horse River Greenphotograph
Steam Up 2010Jalopy on the High Street.photograph
Steam Up 2010All sizes.photograph
Steam Up 2011Tractor ride down the High Street.photograph
Steam Up 2011Musical clown automaton at the entrance to High St surgeryphotograph
Steam Up 2011Large traction engine. Some of these engines travelled long distances to take part in the Steam Up.photograph
Steam Up 2012Smoky ride up the High Street.photograph
Steam Up 2012Display of small engines and on Coronation Green.photograph
Steam Up 2023John French, Chairman of the CLHAS standing in front of the History Society stall with the Railway Game he devised as an attraction for potential young members of the Society.photograph
Steam Up 2023Outside the Crown and Thistle.photograph
Steam Up 2023Merry-go-round on Horse River Green.photograph
Steam Up 2023One of the many vintage cars on show at this years’ Steam Up. This photograph courtesy of Mr Barry Cogan.photograph
Steam Up 2023Crowds making their way to the fair on Horse River Green. South Street lined with vintage cars.  Photo courtesy of Mr Barry Cogan.photograph
Steam Up 2023Food and steam engines outside the Crown and Thistle.  Photo courtesy of Mr Barry Cogan.photograph
Steam Up 2023Miniature engine, photo courtesy of Barry Cogan.photograph
Steam Up 2023Organ playing on St John’s Cross.photograph
Steam Up 2023Steaming up the High Street from the Crown and Thistle, photo courtesy of Mr Barry Coganphotograph
Steam Up 2023Plough car park.photograph
Steam Up 2023In the Plough Car Parkphotograph
Steam Up 2023Outside the Crown and Thistle.photograph
Steam Up 2023Photograph of the CLHAS stall manned by Sheila French and David Greenwood.photograph
Sugar House Antique Shop ArticleAn article taken from “Antique Shops of Essex, 17: The Sugar House, Great Chesterford”,  March 1966, written by Pamela Westland describing the contents of  Joan Mortimer’s antique shop., document photograph
Sugar House Antique Shop ArticleAntique Shops of Essex: Joan and Charles Mortimer, the Sugar House, Great Chesterford, written by Pamela Westland. On her second visit Pamela Westland found even more to admire., document photograph
The Queen’s CoronationThe Coronation of Elizabeth II on 2nd June 1953 was celebrated in the village with a carnival procession; a competition for the best decorated house; a comic football match and other sports; a ham salad and beer tea in a marquee; a bonfire and singsong with fireworks and finished with the national anthem. There was a presentation of souvenir mugs and tins of tea. A television was installed in the school hall to allow as many people as possible to view the event. The archive also has photographs of this event, information about the Coronation of George VI in 1937 and will be recording the celebrations of the Coronation of Charles III.  publication
The Site of CamulodunumThe Site of Camulodunum, or Colchester versus Chesterford, by I Chalkley Gould, printed in 1895. A pamphlet concerning the debate about whether the Roman capital of Camulodunum was sited in Colchester or Chesterford. This pamphlet is in defence of the Colchester view.publication
Turner, WalterPhotograph of Mr Walter Turner owner of Turner’s Farm at the top of the High Street, next to the Plough. He was a staunch Christian and member of the Salvation Army. He disliked the Church and supported the new non-conformist Congregational Chapel on Carmel Street. He was a strict disciplinarian and insisted his family return every year to help with the harvest. He refused to use tractors an continued to use shire horses for many years.photograph
Turner’s Farm – Shire HorsesA Suffolk Punch and foal belonging to Mr Turner.  His farm, situated at the top of the High Street next to The Plough, was one of the last to continue using shires, preferring them to a tractor.photograph
Turner’s FarmhouseEarly 20th century photograph of Turner’s Farm at the top of the High Street, now demolished and a private house. The building beyond the farmhouse is The Plough. Mr Turner used shire horses for many years, stabling them in a barn next to the Shieling.photograph
Vicarage, College, Country Club, Bishop’s HousePhotograph of the rear of this Grade II listed red brick building built in the early 18th century as a Vicarage. This photograph from the mid 19th century shows the extensions on either side which were added by the Rev Charles Amelius Hervey, and his family enjoying the garden. For more information on this and other buildings in the Chesterfords see “House Histories of the Chesterfords” available from the Society.photograph
Vicarage, College, Country Club, Bishop’s HousePhotograph of the Vicarage in its second incarnation as Chesterford College, a cramming college for well-heeled young men preparing for entry to Oxford or Cambridge.  Started by the Rev Robert Doble with the help of Richard Tothill, it had 16 bedrooms and charged 60 guineas. It closed in 1937 and a new vicarage was built near Horse River Green.  For more information on this and other houses in the Chesterfords see “House Histories of the Chesterfords” available from the Society.photograph
Vicarage, College, Country Club, Bishop’s HouseWhen the college closed in 1937 Mr Tothill kept the ownership and in 1947 opened it as a Country Club.  Membership was decided by an application followed by an interview.  The photograph shows Mr and Mrs Tothill playing croquet on the lawn. For more information on the Country Club see “House Histories of the Chesterfords”  available from the Society.photograph
Vicarage, College, Country Club, Bishop’s HouseIn this photograph of the front of the building the Vicarage is now the private residence of the de Bruyne family who owned the Swaine Adeney leather goods factory behind School Street. It was variously named Hall Yard, Chesterford Hall and finally Bishop’s House referring to the fact that a former Vicar, the Rev Charles Bromfield became Bishop of Chester. For more information on Bishop’s House and other buildings see “House Histories of the Chesterfords” available from the Society. Photograph taken from Hello Magazine, Sept 16, 1995.photograph
Victorian Spinning TopAn early 20th century wooden spinning top which belonged to Janet Holman/Clark/Hamilton when she was a child living in Holman’s, the village shop owned by her parents from 1920-1945. For more information on the shop see IR12 “A Village Shop 1920-1945: Good Times and Bad” by Janet Clark.artefact
Village Appraisal 2001Great Chesterford Village Appraisal 2001. A questionnaire to give every household in the village the chance to express their views on various aspects of village life. It covered three main themes, traffic and transport, development, and village facilities and environmental matters., document photograph
Village HallSite of Proposed Village Hall, Great Chesterford, Essex: archaeological evaluation by trial trenching, report prepared by Mark Germany, February 1998. The ditch which defined the north-east side of the mid 1st century fort was located.publication
Village HallCedar wood village hall built on Rose Lane in 1954 after 25 years of fund-raising. The land was purchased from Benskins Watford Brewery, owners of the Crown and Thistle. At that time the brewery owned the land from the Crown and Thistle to Rose Lane. The Deed of Trust on the land was signed on 28th April 1954, and is kept in the archive. The Trustees were William Hamilton of Manor Farm, Gordon Ruck of The Delles, Albert Cole, baker, and the Right Honourable Robert Andrew, Viscount Caldecote of The Rookery. The village hall closed in 1999 when the new Community Centre was built on the Recreation Ground.photograph
Village Hall – A Hall for the Millennium.Publication advertising a fund-raising ball to be held on Saturday 22nd May 1999 for the new village hall to be built on the Recreation Ground. It was produced by Jackie Lipscombe, Chairman of the Village Hall Management Committee.. It was hoped that the hall would be built in time to celebrate the Millennium. It contains a short history of previous meeting places in the village including Mr Choppen’s barn in 1891 to the Institute, the schools, the pubs and the Pioneers Hut until after a great deal of funding the old Village Hall was built on Rose Lane in 1954. The new hall was to be funded mostly from the Lottery, the sale of the Rose Lane site and a grant from the Sports and Arts Foundation. Residents were invited to “Buy a Brick” as a contribution. The Ball started with a reception and tombola followed by dinner, dancing, raffle and auction and finished with more dancing.  Contains adverts of all businesses who donated sponsorship, old photographs of the village and coloured drawings of the proposed new hall., photograph publication
Village Shop – Barrett’sAdvertisement for Barrett’s butcher shop on Carmel Street from 1929., document photograph
Village Shop – Barrett’sJack Barrett serving Mrs Rosemary Burleigh in his shop on Carmel Street. The shop is now The Old House.photograph
Village Shop – Barrett’sJack Barrett’s son Frank standing outside their butcher shop on Carmel Street.photograph
Village Shop – Barrett’s Butcher ShopAnother photograph of Jack Barrett’s butcher shop in Carmel Street, carcases are no longer hung outside although butchers’ aprons are still worn.photograph
Village Shop – Burt’sMr R. and Mrs H.I. Burt took over the village shop on School Street from Mr Kemp in 1970 until 1985, ending the Thurgood consortium. At this time the shop still accommodated a Post Office.photograph
Village Shop – BurtsAdvertisement for Burts shop on School Street from 1974., document photograph
Village Shop – Chesterford StoresPhotograph of Nigel Butterworth and his family in their shop Chesterford Stores, taken in the 1980s.photograph
Village Shop – Denny’sThis photograph shows Len Denny and his daughter standing outside the shop at the bottom of the High St in 1938. Len took ownership from Mrs Eliza Bard who was there in 1911. He sold sweets, groceries, tobacco, comics, and newspapers. Len also set aside an area for boot repairs. The interior was dark and dingy. It was later turned into a private house known as Chestnuts.photograph
Village Shop – Frederick Machon’s Butcher ShopMachon’s butcher Shop was in Carmen Street in a house now called Littlemead. In this photograph from the 1920s he is standing outside on the left and further along is Andrews’ Bakery.  To find out more about the shops in the village see ‘Commerce in Great Chesterford, 1900-1950’, by Ian Deatker, available from the Society.photograph
Village Shop – Holman’sAdvertisement for Holman’s shop on School Street from 1929., document photograph
Village Shop – Holman’sBlack and white photograph of Holman’s Shop on School St showing the staff, the family and the delivery van in 1923. The smallest child in the photograph is Janet Holman, the youngest of the family, who later wrote a book about the shop and their lives between 1920-1945 – “The Village Shop” by Janet Clark/Holman available to buy from CLHAS.photograph
Village Shop – Jack Barrett’s Butcher ShopBarrett’s butcher shop was in Carmel Street and is now Cleaver’s Cottage. He had his own abattoir round the back. The Old House was where he lived. This photo from the 1920s shows Len Denny on the left, then Jack Barrett. More information on the shops in Great Chesterford at the time can be found in ‘Commerce in Great Chesterford 1900-1950’, by Ian Deatker, available for purchase from the Society.photograph
Village Shop – Kemp’sThis photograph shows the village shop on School Street when it was a part of William Thurgood’s consortium and run by Mr C. F. Kemp in 1963. The photograph shows Mr and Mrs Kemp with their staff, Mrs Mackie, Libbie Mackie, Mrs Cadwallader, Mrs March and June Barton.photograph
Village Shop – Kemp’sPhotograph taken in 1963 of the shop assistants in Kemp’s Shop, from left to right Mrs March, Marion Searle and Mrs Cadwallader.photograph
Village Shop – Kerridge’sMr Kerridge owned the shop on St John’s Cross in the latter half of the 19th century.  The photograph taken in the 1890s shows Mr and Mrs Barrett who ran the shop. It was sold to William Thurgood who owned the shop for over 50 years. Several years later it was turned into two private houses called The Courtyard and The Long House.photograph
Village Shop – LondisBy 1989 Chesterfords Stores on St John’s Cross had become part of the Londis franchise. In the 1990s the shop was closed and the building split in two to become private dwellings, The Courtyard and The Long House.photograph
Village Shop – Loveday’sMr and Mrs John Loveday owned the shop on School Street from 1985-1997, now the only shop in the village. Beside it is a good view of Marigold Cottage one of the oldest houses in the village.photograph
Village Shop – ShelfordEnvelope addressed to Mr William Shelford, Draper, Chesterford near Saffron Walden, Essex. The postmark Is N.E. London 1866 and it is stamped with a Victorian penny red. Unfortunately the envelope is empty.document
Village Shop – Shelford’s/Holman’sThe Shelfords were the original owners of the village shop on School Street, known as William Shelford & Sons, Grocers & Drapers. William Shelford ran the shop from 1870-1910 and on his death his sons Richard and John took over until 1920 when the Holmans arrived. William Shelford was well-liked being very courteous to his customers, he also owned several properties in the village.photograph
Village Shop – Thurgood’sBy 1929 Mr William Thurgood had taken over the large shop on St John’s Cross from Mr Kerridge. William came from London and was a successful businessman.  He installed electricity and improved on the poor standard of the shop as it had been under Mr Kerridge.  The shop sold a wide range of goods as did Holman’s which was taken over by Mr Thurgood in 1945. He offered to buy Holman’s as a consortium with  Mr Frost who ran it from 1953-1962  and Mr Kemp who ran it from 1962-1970.  He, like Mr Holman owned several properties in the village as well as a cycle repair shop. The photograph shows him with Edie Dyer, a shop assistant and daughter of Stacey Dyer standing outside the shop.photograph
Village Shop – Thurgood’sPhotograph of  Mr William Thurgood with Charles Andrews, a shop assistant behind the counter of Thurgoods shop on St John’s Cross.photograph
Village Shop – ThurgoodsAdvertisement for Thurgood’s shop on St John’s Cross from 1929., document photograph
Village Stores – Chesterford StoresThurgood’s shop on St John’s Cross was taken over by Nigel Butterworth in the 1980s and renamed Chesterford Stores. The photograph shows Nigel standing in front of the shop on an advertising leaflet offering a ‘Big Store’ experience.photograph
War Memorial – Dedication and TodayOn the evening of 11th November 1918 a large congregation attended a thanksgiving service in All Saints to celebrate the signing of the armistice. The vicar The Rev. Allen gave an impressive address commenting the victory and a collection was made for a fund to provide a lasting memorial for the boys who had given their lives to save the country. On Sunday 14th November 1920 the Great Chesterford Memorial to the fallen heroes of the Great War was unveiled and dedicated, in the presence of nearly 1,000 people. The memorial consists of a cross of Portland stone standing 20 feet high on an octagonal base with three tiers. On the cross is a bronze figure of Our Saviour. The service for the unveiling took place at 3 o’clock and was conducted by the vicar The Rev J. Wynn-Davies and Mrs Stanley, wife of Lieut. Col. A. W. Stanley, unveiled the memorial. This year the Great Chesterford Scouts, Guides, Cubs and Beavers attended the Remembrance Day Service in All Saints Churchyard, having paraded through the village (the picture was taken in 2019 in fine sunny weather; this year 2023 the service was again well attended, but in the rain.photograph
War Memorial DedicationOrder of Service for the Unveiling and Dedication of the War Memorial.   The Dedication took place on November 14th 1920 in the churchyard. For more information on the Memorial and on those whose names appear on the cross see ‘Chesterfords at War’, by John French, Brian Linford and Catherine McManus, available for sale from the Society., document photograph
War Memorial Dedication ServiceIn November 1920 villagers gathered in the churchyard for the unveiling and dedication of the War Memorial. For information on the men whose names appear on the Memorial see, Chesterfords at War, by John French, Brian Linford and Catherine McManus, available for purchase from the Society.photograph
War Office LetterLetter from the War Office to the Clerk of Great Chesterford Parish Council dated 2nd January 1911.  Also included are a Draft Order in Council and a schedule relating to the planned manoeuvres which lists the areas to be used over three months from the 15th July 1911.  The Chesterfords area was not directly involved., document photograph
Welcome HomeAn invitation from the villagers of Great and Little Chesterford inviting all local sailors, soldiers and airmen to a welcome home tea in the school on July 18th 1919, also to a concert and dance in the Vicarage grounds to which everyone was invited. The leaflet is an invitation and replies were to be sent to Mr J E Thewlis, the Headmaster. The leaflet admitted the holder to the tea.publication
Wells of the Chesterfords 1Page One of a document listing the wells in Great and Little Chesterford used when there was no public supply of clean water.  The public supply wasn’t installed until the 1930s and before that villagers had to draw their water from a well in the garden. Most were private wells with only a few being communal., document photograph
Wells of the Chesterfords 2Page two of the list of wells found in Great and Little Chesterford used before the public supply was installed in the 1930s., document photograph
Witches of ChesterfordThe Witches of Chesterford, by Irene Roxburgh, taken from the Times of the Chesterfords, December 1973, p.2., document photograph
Witches of Great ChesterfordNames of women accused of being witches in Great Chesterford in the 16th/17th century. The list was taken from the Essex Witch Trials,  None of these women was ever hanged but all were arrested and jailed for various reasons associated with witchcraft. For more information see other articles on the Witches of Great Chesterford.document